Missing a Class

What do you do when you have to miss a class?

Tomorrow is my four year old son’s birthday party, meaning there is absolutely no way I can make my usual weekend class. Between making cakes, planning party games and wrangling a bouncy castle into the backyard, it’s just not going to happen.

Although I’m excited for his party, this is probably one of those rare events I’ll miss a class for.

Death, birth, marriage? Sure.

Baby shower, engagement party, university graduation? Probably

Brunch with the girls, visiting the inlaws, school assembly? Not a chance!

Besides from being my only strenuous form of physical activity, ballet is absolutely a mental health strategy for me. Being able to get out of the house, ALONE, and do something that so fully absorbs both my mind and body is really important to me.

Unfortunately, my schedule is so mad, it doesn’t really allow me to take a missed class at another time during the week, so I have to make up for it in other ways. I try to put in some extra time on resistance band training, balance training and stretching.

I also take an hour or so during the week to watch some ballet on YouTube. I mean, I watch the odd clip throughout the week, but it’s not the same as sitting down to deliberately watch a full length ballet. I think this is a really important part of understanding the ballet aesthetic too.

And if that fails and I’m not feeling like I’ve had my fill of ballet love, I follow long to this video, then lament the fact that Russian ten year olds are whoopin’ my ass.

What do you do if you have to miss a class?

D.D.

xxxx

Leave a Reply

